There are seven key patterns. They’re also organized along the spectrum of improving performance vs. reducing cost/risk, and closer to the data vs. closer to the user.

  • Evals: To measure performance
  • RAG: To add recent, external knowledge
  • Fine-tuning: To get better at specific tasks
  • Caching: To reduce latency & cost
  • Guardrails: To ensure output quality
  • Defensive UX: To anticipate & manage errors gracefully
  • Collect user feedback: To build our data flywheel

Addendum: how to match these LLM patterns to potential problems

Send me a message or webmention
Back to feed